Getting ready for Metamora CDE XXX (30th year)

Monday Richard and I drove back to Michigan after Elk Creek.  I dropped him off at Larry and Norma Wheeler’s in Oxford (spent the night) and Tuesday drove up north to check the mail, repack some cloths, water the garden, and drive back down on Wednesday.  I picked Lisa Singer up at the Flint airport on the way.

Upon arrival I found out that the golf carts hadn’t arrived because their delivery truck broke down, so they wouldn’t be arriving until this morning. Very nicely, they were here very early with the first load.

We had a nice dinner last night at the High Street Eatery in Metamora.  Boots Wright arrived, as did TD Ian Moller.  The White Horse Inn, which many who have been to Metamora will remember, is undergoing massive restoration and will reopen later in the summer.

Because of the change in date, I feel like I’m not as well-organized as I would like to be. I got up very early so that I could get the office organized and start to work on packets.  At 6:15 I arrived at Windrush Farm only to find that I couldn’t get to the barn because gates were closed across the driveway because horses were turned out there.  Fortunately, Richard came along a couple of minutes later, and led me out back on the track of the course and we came in behind the barn!  And fortunately Barb has a Keurig so I could get my second cup of coffee. I am handing out packets with as much information as we have.  The judges and TD looked things over this morning, and some changes to the course are in the works.  Mostly shortening Section A.

The secretary’s office and scoring is set up in Barb Chapman’s big barn this year.  It is nice to be out of the elements and have plenty of room, but it is also removed from the rest of the competition.  However, I’ve seen so many events, I don’t feel I’m missing too much.  I will get out a little bit throughout the weekend.

The 30th Anniversary Program is a real keeper.  It is loaded with color photos of Metamora’s past, histories of the event and of the Metamora Carriage and Driving Association.

A briefing is going to be held at 4:30 this afternoon, to be followed by the traditional welcome reception on the Windrush Farm terrace with that outstanding view of the Metamora countryside.  Hopefully the rain and clouds will be gone tomorrow. The forecast says we will have a lovely weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

